Warm Spiced Wine or Gluhwein

Nothing says the holidays for me more than a hot cup of Gluhwein. This warm spiced wine generally makes its first appearance at the end of November. My first glass of the season is traditionally enjoyed while at the Eindhoven Glow festival (a yearly festival of light that takes place at the end of November. For me this is the “official” beginning of the holiday season).

I particularly look forward to drinking this holiday classic at Christmas Markets, in fact I collect the souvenir mugs it is served in.

IMG_0140
This one is my favorite. I honestly don’t know why.

In the past I always either enjoyed my Gluhwein out or bought a premade bottle from the store, but making it at home is really easy and tastes so much better!

This is an original recipe published at eetweetjes.nl and translated by me. I highly recommend checking out the site. Its full of very yummy recipes!

Ingredients:

  • 1 bottle of red wine. It doesn’t have to be great wine, just drinkable.
  • 1 1/2 stick of cinnamon
  • 10 cloves
  • pinch of nutmeg (preferably fresh)
  • Pinch of fresh ground pepper
  • juice of 1 orange
  • zest of 1/2 of an orange
  • heaping spoonful of brown sugar

Put everything in a pot and warm it on low heat until the sugar dissolves, then put it on the lowest heat and let it sit until it gets to a nice warm temperature. The longer the spices are warming in the pan the better the wine will taste.
I love using my slow cooker for this. I put in all the ingredients in and turn it on high until the sugar is dissolved then turn it to low or medium (depending on your slow cooker). Everything will stay nice and warm and it will only get better tasting with time.

This should make about 7 glasses.

Enjoy!!

These are pictures of some of the mugs I have collected over the years. I love serving my homemade gluhwien in these mugs!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

