The Completly Selfish Reason for Encouraging my Husband To Go Out

My husband is a homebody. Sure, he likes going out with friends but has trouble planning and, in general, will enjoy sitting around the house just as much. I have always been fine with him going out but have never really pushed it, until recently. Lately I have really encourage him to spend time with his friends. I am not his social director, I refuse to set up “husband night out” or anything, but when he mentions a movie he wants to see I am the first to say “you should go see it! I’m sure one of your friends would love to go with you.”.  He told me that a group of coworkers he likes go rock climbing every week, “social time and exercise? Absolutely! Maybe not every week, but how about every other week?” (I need an occasional Friday night as well!)

Good or bad, my reasons are utterly and completely selfish.

I know its good for him. I’m not encouraging him to do something he doesn’t want to do, he just never would. He needs to be around friends. He needs to be able to take a mental break. He needs to be around people who will talk to him about Star Wars and other geeky things that I could care less about about.

But that’s not it. Not really. Those things are just a bonus.

There is also the fact that he is happy after he has spent some time away. He is more relaxed and nicer to have around. I also don’t feel as guilty about my “away time” if he takes some of his own.

But that’s not it either. It’s even more selfish than that.

I am NEVER ALONE!  Being a stay at home moms is a crazy mix of wanting adult interaction and just wanting to be alone. I LOVE the nights I can just sit on the couch and not talk. Not interact. Not pay attention. Not think. Not ask anyone’s opinion about the movie.
Don’t get me wrong, I love the nights when my husband is around. He travels for work and is gone for weeks at a time. These times are very difficult. These nights are different. He is around to help get the kids to bed and ask me about my day and I know he will be around in the morning to help get the kids ready  for the day. So these nights I can just relax!

Like tonight. The kids are in bed. My husband is at the movie and I am sitting on the couch drinking wine and watching a movie. I will probably go to bed early.

Maybe not the thrill a minute life I used to lead but it’s great. You should try it. Encourage your husband to go out and see a movie with friends and curl up on the couch. Just make sure that you go out sometime as well!!

wp-1452283877680.jpeg

 

Leave a Reply

