Raw Salsa (or 5 minute salsa that my 3 year old can make) Recipe

imag3075.jpg

I love salsa. As a native Texan I think that salsa and ranch dressing are just about the only condiments I will ever need. A few years ago I started a vegetable garden and quickly had more tomatoes than I could ever eat so I leaned to can vegetables and started making salsa. I swore I would never but store bought again. Last year there was a tiny disaster (I say tiny because there are very real disasters in the world). I planted my garden and during a trip home to see family, Eindhoven had a crazy random heat wave killing my entire garden.

no tomatoes! no salsa! no delicious breakfast burritos or “Mexican” salads!

But honestly the idea of buying tomatoes from the shop or market to can salsa wasn’t very appealing either. For a while I was buying salsa from the shop. GASP!

I was playing on the internet one day and came across “raw salsa”. This was an amazing revelation to me. Of course you don’t have to cook it!

I started playing with ingredients and soon we were making homemade raw salsa every week! My son loves to help in the kitchen and because there is minimal prep and no fire he is now “in charge” of the salsa. I only cut up the veg.

this is so easy!

imag2883.jpg

Ingredients:

  1. 1 bell pepper
  2. garlic ( I used 2 large cloves but use as much as you like)
  3. 1 onion (I used 2 small onions this time because that’s what I had)
  4. chilies ( I love these little Merza green peepers because they have a little heat to them but mostly just have a nice flavor)
  5. 2 tbs lime juice
  6. 1 tbs coriander
  7. 1 tbs cumin
  8. optional: chili powder.
  9. one can of cubed or chopped tomato

My kids don’t like anything very hot or spicy  so this isn’t hot at all. If you prefer yours hot, add some chili powder. Use as much chili powder as you like. Or fresh chilies. Really this is such a great recipe because it is so adaptable.

imag3067.jpg

Put the first 4 ingredients in a blender (you can use a food processor as well). Pulse till they are in little chunks then add everything else and blend it until it’s at the consistency you like.

imag3071.jpg

Done and Done. Easy right!?!

This salsa is  really light and fresh tasting. this will not preserve so don’t try to can it but it freezes really well. It will keep in the fridge for about a week and in the freezer for a really long time.

I use this salsa just about every day with my breakfast, It works so well on scrambled eggs or on a breakfast burrito. It not only tastes amazing but also adds a lot of veggies to any meal.

img_20160204_092248.jpg

Give it a try. Play with the ingredients and make something amazing!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Raw Salsa (or 5 minute salsa that my 3 year old can make) Recipe

Leave a Reply

