Blueberry Apple Sauce: Cooking with the Kids

My family and I went blueberry picking last weekend and we ended up picking 3 kilos of blueberries. Since then I have been hard at work using them all! Well, it hasn’t really been work. I have a bit of an obsessive personalty so when I decide to use blueberries in as many ways as I can think of it turns into a happy little obsessive project.  Blueberry apple sauce was the very first thing that popped into my mind. Every year in the Autumn we go apple picking and I make and freeze loads of apple sauce. Adding blueberries into the mix seemed like a perfect fit, and since I was able to get the kids involved in the process it was extra special.

First gather you ingredients:

  • I used 9 of these little apples. This came to around 8 cups once they were peeled and chopped. It doesn’t matter the kind of apples but the sweeter the better. Normally for apple sauce I wouldn’t bother peeling them but the peel would affect the color and I didn’t want that.
  • 4 cups of blueberries
  • 1/4 cup of honey. You can use more or less depending on how sweet your apples are.
  • 1 tbs lemon juice. this will give the apple sauce a fresh taste that I really like.

IMG_1898

Next: Gather your helpers!

IMG_1901

Peel and chop the apples into cubes. The smaller they are the faster they will cook but beyond that, it doesn’t really matter.

Then put all the ingredients into a pot or sauce pan and set the heat to low.

 

For the for the first 10 minutes or so I stir it often but once there is a lot of liquid and I don’t have to worry so much about the apples burning I only stir it occasionally .

In about 30 minutes the apples were cooked. The were soft and getting mushy. They have also taken on this beautiful color.

IMG_1920

At this point you have some options.

  1. You can let it cook on low until all the apples turn to mush
  2. You can (very carefully) put everything into a blender and give it a whirl
  3. You can use an immersion blender to make sure everything is nice and pureed

I use the immersion blender. I am impatient.

You could also skip the stove completely and put everything into your slow cooker and cook on low for around 8 hours. I honestly didn’t feel like I was making a big enough batch for that this time.

There you have it! Blueberry Applesauce. It has a wonderful flavor and the prettiest color. I was hoping to freeze some of it for later but it wont last that long.

I guess I will have to make more!

IMG_1934

Leave a Reply

