My “Little 5k’s” and No I Don’t Intend to Run Farther

My weight loss journey started years ago, about 5 years in fact. I knew that I needed to loose weight but  didn’t really know how. You see, my husband and I decided to have a child I read that it was easier to be pregnant and give birth if you are fit, so the decision was made to start trying to get healthy.  So I started running. It was a great choice. I wasn’t emotionally or mentally ready to join a gym because that felt very permanent but running I could just do without any real pressure or commitment. So I started a “couch to 5K” training program and got my butt outside. I would run two or three times a week after the kids went to bed (depending on weather, I’m a bit of a baby about rain). Slowly I got more and more comfortable and a bit faster.

I ran my first “real 5k” (meaning a timed, paid for event) just before I got pregnant with my first child. It was a ladies run in Utrecht. My time was 47 minutes. I can’t tell you how proud of myself I was. I didn’t stop running. Sure that is, in reality, an unbelievably slow pace as far as running goes (it’s very nearly walking) but I was bursting!

Image 14-03-2017 at 21.42 (1)

Me after my first 5K. 

A lot has happened since the day I decided to strap on some running shoes almost 6 years ago ( 2 kids up and over 25 kilos down for starters) but I still love running my 5k’s.

You see, I have a great many friends who run 10k’s, half marathons and full marathons. Before the start of every running season I start getting asked to run farther. My friends don’t mean is to be insulting or demeaning (and I’m not taking it that way), I think it’s more like they want me to run with them. Or that 5k’s are for beginners and at this point in my fitness journey I am capable of doing more or running farther. I understand that, I am fully capable.

But I’m not going to run farther. I like running my little 5K’s. I’m happy there.

I like the fact that I can leave my house and make it back for a shower in under 40 minutes. That means that I can get my kids to bed and decide to run. I don’t have to plan it or prep for it. Start to finish, I use 1 hour of my evening. Including a shower. Pretty evening? Kids in bed on time? I tell my hubby that I’m going for a run and by the time he gets done playing on his phone, I’m back.

I like that I don’t really have to train anymore for a 5k. I may be crying and panting by the time that I finish, but I will finish. I can’t say that about the longer runs. They take a dedication that I simply don’t have.

Well, I have dedication by the tons. But I need to spread it around a bit. I love going to the gym. I have learned that this is my happy place. Lifting weights, yoga, zumba and all the crazy classes that I love so much. At home I love knitting, baking, reading and watching horror movies. Lets not forget Roller Derby, my newest obsession. Oh and family time, lets not forget that, either. Thats kinda a big one.  I only have so much time and energy!

And the reality is, is there any health benefits to running farther. Seriously?

So, to my friends: I love that you run farther than me. I love that you love it and want to share your excitement with me. I love that you want me to be the best that I can be.

But, I’m good. Thanks. I will continue to run my little 5k’s and that will free me up to cheer for you when you cross your finish line.

Colour runs, zombie runs and ladies runs. 5k’s rock!!

 

Leave a Reply

