Roller Derby: Fresh Meat Week 10

We got back from Spain and it was a struggle to get back into a routine this week. I was at the gym a few days but after so many weeks of a severely limited workout I really struggled. I was so sore after every single workout. At first I was really annoyed about it but I quickly realised that it had been over a month since I had fractured my finger so I hadn’t lifted weights or really worked out since then. After that I cut myself some slack.

Saturday was a very fun day. A friend of mine found a pair of vintage  roller skates at the resale shop. She had bought them for her son but he was used to the inline skates so they ended up with me. I was excited to have skates for my son and he was excited to have skates like mommies. Saturday morning we went to the sports shop and bought all the pads he would need and a skating helmet for him. I actually didn’t realise that skating helmets were very different from biking helmets until I was in the shop. I knew that my derby helmet was different but apparently all skaters should wear a special helmet that covers more of the sides of the head. Luckily my son is fine with wearing the pads. I think it will be a problem when it starts to get hot outside, though. My daughter even got some skates! We got here the adjustable plastic kind that goes over her shoes. When her feet grow 2 more sized she will get her own real pair.

Image 20-03-2017 at 20.14 (1)

Saturday wasn’t a particularly beautiful day so no one was very excited about going outside. So in true “fun mom” fashion, I moved all the furniture from the living room into the kitchen and we made our own roller rink.

It was a great time. I was just focused on teaching their balance and how to get around. I really loved seeing my kids on skates! I see many summer days skating around the neighbourhood in our future.

 

Practice:

So happy to be back after a 2 week break! I got there early so I could have some extra skate time before we got going. We didn’t do our standard workout this week (push ups, sit ups, etc). I supposed that after 10 weeks they just assume we have a basic fitness level, or maybe they forgot. The new skills we learned this week were mostly whips. They are going to be hard to describe. Red skater and blue skater. Red skater needs to go really fast, she skates from behind and to the side of blue skater. Blue skater holds out her arm and red skater reaches forward and grabs her arm. At this point blue skater swings her arm forward and when red skater lets go she is propelled forward.

Let me tell you, this is difficult. I knew that I was lacking in the upper body strength but this really synched it! I was super sore through my arm pits and into my chest the next day. I didn’t even know it was possible to be sore in my arm pits!

We also practiced jumping. Literally skating and then jumping over an obstacle, in this case a series of cones stacked about 5 or 6 inches high. After I got past the initial “hell no, I can’t do that. You are all crazy people. What the hell am I doing here” thoughts (I would never say those things out loud because I’m pretty sure they would make me do pushups or something) I did pretty well. I fell on my bottom a few times but managed not to injure myself. Its like psychotic box jumps. Unfortunately, I hate normal box jumps. So there is that.

We skated the “27 in 5” at the end of practice. I was able to skate 23 laps. Again, I’m super proud of myself. I get a little better every time. I also found out that for Fresh Meat we only have to skate 23 laps and that its 27 for the Smokey Bacon level. This released a lot of pressure, I know know that if I keep practicing and improving at this rate I will be able to get my minimum laps in during the skills test. Passing the rest of the test is a different thing, but I’ll leap that bridge later.

After practice we had another “theory” lesson. I have only been to 1 and I’m feeling remarkably unprepared for a rules test. I asked the instructor what language the test would been and she said that she could print out an English version for me. I was really relieved to hear that. I did learn that I am out of town during the final rules test and thats a little annoying.

So, another week in the books. Can’t wait to see what happens next!

Image 20-03-2017 at 20.14

3 thoughts on “Roller Derby: Fresh Meat Week 10

Leave a Reply

