Tofu Springrolls: Cooking With The Kids

I haven’t let the kids help me cook in ages. Well, they help me cook all the time but I haven’t made it an organised event with kid friendly food in ages. I need to start that again. Sheer laziness is probably the reason I stopped. I mean, it’s so much faster to send them outside to play and do it myself. Less mess as well. But they will never learn that way so it’s time to make more of an effort again.

Tonight we made Tofu Spring Rolls

 

First I cut the tofu into strips and roasted it in a hot oven until it was crispy on the outside, around 20 minutes. In the meantime I gathered and prepped any vegetables that I thought would be good. I chose cucumber, bell pepper, carrots and spinach. I’m sure you can use any vegetables you want.

I got these rice paper wraps. Man they are tricky! The instructions say to soak the sheets in warm water for 30 seconds and then put them on a tea towel. I followed the instructions the first time but it went horribly wrong. They stuck to the towel and I couldn’t get it off!  I learned that it’s better to use a plate but it needs to be kept dry.

I let the kids fill them and then I wrapped them (to the best of my ability). They had a great time. My son decided that he loved all the individual ingredients all of a sudden.  The kids ate more during the process of making them than they ate the finished product. Including the roasted tofu.

I mixed soy sauce and sweet chilli for a quick sauce.

Image 30-03-2017 at 19.55 (3)

 

I thought they were really good (especially for my first attempt). My son decided that he loved them and ate a respectable amount. This was a huge result because I haven’t been able to convince him to touch a vegetable in ages.

Image 30-03-2017 at 19.55 (7)

My daughter was less impressed. I think she found them difficult to eat.

Image 30-03-2017 at 19.55 (4)

I will say that they were quit bland. This was perfect for my kids because they tend to prefer their food more on the bland side but I could have done with more seasoning. I tried to drip some soy sauce inside of one before I rolled it but it was a disaster! Next time I will plan ahead better and marinate the tofu overnight.

I’m happy we cooked dinner together. It was fun!

Leave a Reply

